Where in Time should I Stand?

Maybe it’s just me.

I constantly feel insecure about the way I live my life, and I think to myself, “Is this good? Should I go on living in doubt of myself and my choices? Should I devote my mind and actions to my mistakes, my accomplishments, or just ignore all that for an unbiased judgement of myself?”

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t see my own mind that clearly. It took quite a bit of reflection to come up the words to express my thoughts. My point remains, though. What should my general goal be? More accurately, to where should I direct my thoughts? The past, where all certain things lie? Should I live in in the present ignoring, for the most part, consequences and old mistakes? I might look to the future, in which dwell all my dreams, resolved or broken.

To look to the past would be respectful, yet cautious- maybe too cautious. To live in the present would be to follow everyone’s example. Living in the present is very fashionable today, but I see it as reckless and foolish. finally, there’s the future. For now it is only a fantasy or a dread, depending on everything. I tend to do everything but live in the present, and this is probably as foolish as living only in the present.

In theory, there is a perfect blend of past, present, and future, but I have yet to find it or meet someone who has.

I don’t know whether this is a series of questions to consider or a sort of plea for help.

if you have found the perfect combination of past, present, and future, please share.

One thought on “Where in Time should I Stand?

Leave a reply

