Eyes, and Why They Matter

This post is centered around eyes as you may well know, eyes are quite an obsession of mine and rightfully so, I believe. Obviously, for all you readers with functioning eyes your eyes let you see and take in information. Other than the function eyes were made to fill, they are excellent for art.

Eyes are the main expressers of emotion, and those Mangakas (Manga and Anime artists) are well aware of it. Sure the mouth can smile and frown, and the eyebrows can furrow and raise, but the eyes can close, squint, roll, and even smile, among other things. No emotion is complete without the appropriate eye expression. To express what I mean, without the help of my own eyes, I present to you a series of different eye expressions, accompanied by corresponding colors.

Eyes

Eyes

Notice how the shape of the eye can change even the mood of the color I drew it with. Rather than going with the usual yellow or pink for the “happy” eyes, I used blue, and the blue turned into a cheerful color choice. The yellow here is downcast and gives it’s corresponding set of eyes a slightly angelic vibe.

Notes: the first set of eyes I drew a while before the others and is based off of Anne Hathaway’s own eyes. I apologize for the quality of the picture; it was taken with a borrowed iPhone. With regards to color, each set of eyes is drawn with a color family- therefore, the brown eyes have hints of green and yellow, as well as a bit of red, and the yellow eyes have a touch of tan and brown in them. Generally I would stretch further out of the individual color families, but I think that here the close color choice was appropriate.

Also, vibe is a technical term.

Please, let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Eyes, and Why They Matter

  1. I think you did an awesome job with these eyes 🙂 My favorites are the green ones, for some reason. I find eyes reallllllllyyy hard to do, but you’re right–they matter so much. After all, how many times have we read in a book or even seen in real life that so-and-so “pretended to be stern, but their eyes were twinkling”? 🙂

    • Thanks, Amanda!
      Yes, good example with the twinkling eyes. Still, I haven’t yet been able to portray a self-contradictory expression.

Leave a reply

