My Latest Obsession: Early Stages

Introducing my obsession. If you have read my most recent post, you know that my latest obsession is a new style I have developed. Here are some photos of the different stages of this style:
(First, the finished product)

20130526-222729.jpg

20130526-222810.jpg

Alright, let’s get started.

Phase one.

20130526-222933.jpg
Pencil: this is the three-part phase in which I sketch the skeleton, outline the body roughly, and make the first lines of the hair and clothes. Also, I make guidelines on the face, to help me with the placement of the eyes, nose, and mouth.

Phase two:

20130526-223352.jpg
Pen: I outline the final lines here. This is where the drawing starts to become more defined, and easily the most intimidating phase. I also draw the face and add eyelashes. As a side note, anything that isn’t added in phase two doesn’t end up in the final product.

Phase three:

20130526-223733.jpg
Color: this is my favorite phase. If any leftover pencil lines haven’t been erased in phase two, I erase them now. And I color in the outlines, hence the name. I have used colored pencils to this point, but am planning on trying out watercolor.

20130526-224126.jpg
My favorite part of the finished product is the shading around the eyes and on the face. I love using fantastical colors, such as blue, for blush.

Leave a reply

