To Do “Something Good”

Basically, there are two trains of thought (relevant to this post). For now, all this refers to art, specifically my own.
Train 1: Do your very best. Get out of your comfort zone. Hone your skills now, while you can. If you do that, you’ll go far, and you’ll be better for it and well prepared when things get serious.
Train 2: Don’t rush things. Enjoy this freedom while you can; you won’t always be a kid. You won’t always have summers and weekends free. You won’t always be able to rely on your parents.
I often find myself in this position: I need to work on drawing guys… And feet… And ears… And tongues… But I want to draw eyes! I want to draw dresses and fairies, mermaids, princesses, pretty faces, and, well, the stuff that comes easily to me.

Sometimes Train 1 wins the battle (I could use a nice change of pace), and sometimes Train 2 does (Hey, there are no rules! Do what you want!). I don’t usually lean to one train or the other. This is saying a lot; I am usually quite biased. However, this subject seems to elude even my most prejudiced of opinions.

The odd thing is that I don’t prefer either one. I love my drawings of fairies and princesses just as much as those of hands and feet. It’s a totally even battle. I think I’ll break it down to pros and cons (it helps me think).

Train 1:
Pros
•benefits my future self.
•gives me variety.
•pushes me out of my comfort zone.

Cons
•sets me up for failure.
•frankly, it’s just hard.
•requires more of a commitment

Train 2:
Pros
•it’s fun.
•encourages inspiration.
•it’s easier.

Cons
•provides less of a chance to grow (however, I still can grow in my comfort zone)

Where do you stand in the debate?

Leave a reply

