Poetically Perfect; thoughts on exteriors

Contrary to popular belief, I do not hate people in general.

I don’t think that anyone really hates people in general. They may testify otherwise, but I think they’re lying.

Really, what’s to hate? People are beautiful! They have unlimited potential. They can emote and communicate with the most subtle of impressions. They can create for goodness’ sake! Nothing else in the world can do that.  People are stunningly colorful and imperfectly poetic. Nonetheless, I see it everywhere; “I just hate people, you know?” “People suck.” “I just don’t want to deal with people.” Why? I repeat, what is there to hate?

People are real. They are, I believe, the realest things in this material world. The only problem is that a lot of people confuse real people with their exteriors (I think that some/most/all people confuse their own exteriors with their own selves). Here’s the deal: people are indescribably amazing, but their exteriors are less than great. I love real people, but I hate fake people.

Well, let’s be honest. Everyone is fake, at least at first.

Ugh, please. Why can’t we just get rid of that wall, the exterior? Wouldn’t it be wonderful just to be able to share ideas and feelings and thoughts and creations and just everything without having to get through the exterior?Why do we even have those lousy exteriors? Let’s get rid of them!!

Funny you should say that, Meredith, because there is at least one function for the exteriors. “What could that be?” Well, my little naive soul, the world isn’t all butterflies and gumdrops. Being open is a huge mistake if you want to be safe. Someone could use your thoughts and feelings. They could even hurt you. “But isn’t it worth it?” I don’t know, Meredith. I don’t know.

Ok, so we live in a flawed world, filled with flawed people. Flawed, beautiful people. Why do we have to pretend to be boring, grey, perfect people to fit in with the neighborhood curb appeal? Protect yourself, by all means, but don’t forget that other people want to get through your exterior (at least, I do). There is a difference between protecting one’s self from harm and protecting one’s self from people.

My eternal struggle is trying to open up so that others can get past my exterior, but having to deal with people I’ve let in who still have their exteriors up. I can only hope that they’ll follow me in my pursuit of realness. I just hate having to conform to social “rules”, but at the same time I am concerned as to whether or not I am following them adequately. Paradox.

And Now a Message to the People of the World:

I don’t care about how you fit in the social rules. I don’t care how or why, just be friendly and happy and loving. Being loving  is much more important than the rules, okay? Okay? Okay? I will not think of you differently if you do something out of the ordinary to make someone happy or to show some love or whatever. Actually, I probably will think of you differently, but never for the worse. I’m not saying you should sell everything to buy a house for a stranger, but at the very least you could just talk to someone about something he or she cares about.

Have you ever just wished you could do something nice, helped someone in some way, or any of that stuff? What was stopping you? Helping out is infinitely more important than that exterior you’re trying to protect. It’s much more important than the unspoken “rules”.

I would say that nothing bad can happen from being a loving friend, but that would be a naive-Meredith-lie. many bad things can happen because people are so protective of their exteriors that they think they don’t want a change. I know, it’s pretty backwards. We shouldn’t let these exteriors that were meant to protect us be the things that separate us the wonderful, beautiful people. We can’t let ourselves forget that other imperfectly poetic, thoughtful, beautiful, simple, yet so complicated people exist.

People shouldn’t become like a solar system- Planets contained in our own little atmospheres, connected merely by a common gravitational pull, all unique, but never admitting so to each other. Planets all look the same from the outside. Rather, we should be like the parts of a tree- all with different purposes and all contributing to a bigger picture. We don’t just want a mass of leaves. You can be a root if you want, or a branch, or whatever suits you. I don’t know, maybe my metaphor got away from me, there. I’ll work on it.

2 thoughts on “Poetically Perfect; thoughts on exteriors

  1. Meredith? Meredith?!

    Have you been inside my head lately?

    “Well, my little naive soul, the world isn’t all butterflies and gumdrops. Being open is a huge mistake if you want to be safe. Someone could use your thoughts and feelings. They could even hurt you. “But isn’t it worth it?” I don’t know, Meredith. I don’t know.

    Ok, so we live in a flawed world, filled with flawed people. Flawed, beautiful people. Why do we have to pretend to be boring, grey, perfect people to fit in with the neighborhood curb appeal? Protect yourself, by all means, but don’t forget that other people want to get through your exterior (at least, I do). There is a difference between protecting one’s self from harm and protecting one’s self from people.

    My eternal struggle is trying to open up so that others can get past my exterior, but having to deal with people I’ve let in who still have their exteriors up. I can only hope that they’ll follow me in my pursuit of realness.”

    Those few paragraphs just put into words something that really frustrates me and saddens me. You’ve got it head on, Meredith. Really. Just…thank you, okay? 🙂

Leave a reply

